60s week

You may or may not have noticed, but I’ve had a bit of a thing for the 60s of late. Well, more specifically The Kinks, but hey!

Sunny Afternoon

So I’ve hit on the fantastic idea (for me at least!) of having an entire 60s week in Theatreland. It means I can all but live in one of my favourite decades for seven days, as well as see a few brilliant shows – some of them for the nth time. (Don’t mention the amount of money it will cost…)

I’ve got a few ideas already:

  • Sunny Afternoon (duh!)
  • Let It Be
  • Jersey Boys
  • Made in Dagenham
  • Beautiful: The Carole King Musical

All musicals and only five of them. If possible, I’d like to fill each potential performance time! (Though this is probably a foolish idea, both for my bank balance and energy levels.) So that’s every evening (eek!) plus matinées on Saturday, Sunday, Wednesday and Thursday… Yeah, written down that looks completely bonkers! May re-think, but let’s stick with it for now.

So. Here’s where you come in. If you know of any other shows (plays or musicals – I’m happy with variety) that are either set in the 60s, or were written in said decade, I’d be very grateful for suggestions. For your information, this feat of endurance will probably go ahead towards the end of March or early April. And in London (West End or otherwise).

Leave your ideas in the comments section, or tweet me @Deborah_Deborah. I look forward to hearing from you!

Shaftesbury Avenue

Leave a Reply

