Day 2: You Still Want Me

George Maguire, Ned Derrington, Dominic Tighe, Tam Williams and Adam Sopp in Sunny Afternoon.  Photograph by Kevin Cummins.
George Maguire, Ned Derrington, Dominic Tighe, Tam Williams and Adam Sopp in Sunny Afternoon.
Photograph by Kevin Cummins.

So day 1 is done. What was our challenge for day 2, I hear you ask? I said… Oh, never mind.

This one is a bit of an ongoing one: find as many Sunny Afternoon posters as you can! If you find any, do take a photo (of yourself with the poster if you can) and send to @SunnyAftFans with the #SunnyChallenge hashtag. I actually happened to spot a few yesterday during our #KinksAroundLondon tour…

Clissold Arms
Clissold Arms
Highgate Tube
Highgate Tube
Angel Tube
Angel Tube

The morning commute isn’t the easiest place to take photos (have you crossed a Londoner around 9am?), so I’ve no evidence of the two I saw at Baker Street Tube – but I did manage to get this one at Euston Square! WP_20150331_004 Lunch break wanderings in the sunshine was a great opportunity to spy some more lovely posters. There’s a great separated poster (Ned, Adam and John + George) on Leicester Square Box Office, as well as another full-sized one in Oxford Circus Tube – it was not easy getting that one! And, of course, the Theatre Café has an older (but signed) version on display.

                                                 WP_20150404_003    WP_20150407_002

Jess & I thought it would be fun to get a few pictures in & around the Harold Pinter… Yeah, I’m not sure about the facial expressions either!

DSCF8134 DSCF8136 DSCF8138

This time I had stalls C4 – a new one for me! (Yes, somehow there are still some front stalls seats I’ve not sat in…) And even there you’re not safe from the bubbly spraying! WP_20150407_004 I can’t believe that it just manages to get better every time! I do love anticipating the jokes and waiting for my favourite bits (generally these are the lesser noticed things, so I end up laughing loudly by myself), even if it does make it seem like it’s going much faster than it actually is… Though this time that meant it didn’t feel like too long to wait until my first ice cream at the Harold Pinter: double chocolate, lovely!

It was brilliant to see the new cast members build on their first night performance – the surviving original cast seem to be adjusting well to their own quirks & interpretations of each role. For much of the night I was in a bit of a silly mood, so the entertaining scenes (yes, especially Cardiff!) went down very well. But then something just switched inside me during ‘Too Much On My Mind’ and I got very emotional all of a sudden – that’s a powerful performance that does that to you. It seems almost unnatural that after 65 times I can still be moved by the same words, yet here I am. Not quite the full-scale sobbing of just over a week ago, but emotional enough to tire me out some more! DSCF8140 Quote of the night: “Why don’t you just call us The Perverts?!”

Song of the night: This Time Tomorrow – it was nice to see pretty much all of the action, but from a side viewpoint. Dave, Mick & Larry are particularly entertaining, and I love the choreography of the plane taking off!

Scene of the night: the creation of Waterloo Sunset – Ray’s speech always, always moves me.

#drumsolo view rating: 3.5/5 – it’s right on the end, plus I had a tall head obscuring things a bit…

And today’s Stage Door Daily’ is Lillie Flynn!

DSCF8143
Lillie Flynn (Rasa)

If she could be any other character, she’d be… Allen Klein. Or Mick if she could play the drums!

As is the case with most of the cast, Lillie plays several roles in the show, though her main credit is Rasa (Ray’s wife). “R-A-S-A!” Lilllie gives the character a real spirited nature; Rasa is feisty to the last, even when she’s trying to cajole Ray out of his depression.

Her voice and John’s during ‘Too Much On My Mind/Tired Of Waiting’ melt beautifully into each other. And her rendition of ‘I Go To Sleep’ never fails to give me goosebumps, it is simply stunning. There is a unique quality to her voice that makes you want to just keep listening. She also has a great sense of comedy; I especially like her revelation that her parents have “booked St. Joseph’s! In Bradford…”

And outside of the role of Rasa, Lillie doesn’t half enjoy her tambourine part in ‘You Really Got Me’! It always brings a smile to my face when I glance over in that direction – who says you need to watch the band the whole time?

Lillie Flynn in Sunny Afternoon.  Photograph by Kevin Cummins.
Lillie Flynn in Sunny Afternoon.
Photograph by Kevin Cummins.
4 thoughts on “Day 2: You Still Want Me

Leave a Reply

