(Unofficial) Day 8: Waterloo Sunset

George Maguire, Ned Derrington, Dominic Tighe, Tam Williams and Adam Sopp in Sunny Afternoon.  Photograph by Kevin Cummins.
George Maguire, Ned Derrington, Dominic Tighe, Tam Williams and Adam Sopp in Sunny Afternoon.
Photograph by Kevin Cummins.

Somehow Jess & I managed to extend the challenge unofficially by two whole days… It has now come to an end, though – funds for unplanned trips have definitely run dry!

This was my 70th trip to Sunny Afternoon. Yes, you read that correctly: 70. I was going to wait a day, so my milestone coincided with the first anniversary of the first show at the Hampstead, but given Sunday night’s events… How could I possibly be anywhere else?

The day just flew by in a flurry of tweets! It is impossible to get bored of looking at photos of the guys looking handsome in their suits, and the gorgeous girls in their dresses.

Paul Bird Photography: Olivier Awards &emdash; George Maguire, Adam Sopp & John Dagleish
George Maguire, Adam Sopp and John Dagleish at the Olivier Awards. Photograph by Paul Bird.

Especially when you add those four Oliver statuettes into the mix!

Oliviers 6
George Maguire, Ned Derrington, Adam Sopp and John Dagleish celebrate Oliviers success. Photograph by David Jensen.

Excitingly, the posters outside the Pinter had been updated by the time Jess & I arrived for the evening show, proudly displayed as follows:

WP_20150413_007

It was odd not being sat with Jess, especially after a full week of properly sharing the show together. I know I’ve been mean to her (& will continue to do so – it’s a sign of true friendship!), but it really was a fantastic week, and I couldn’t imagine sharing it with anyone else. Let’s resurrect #SunnyChallenge in a few months’ time, yeah?

Thankfully I managed to get myself a stalls seat for my special occasion: E8, which was brilliant for getting an overall view of the stage. Something that I was keen on this time!

WP_20150416_008

Excitingly, on entry I was treated to a taster of the ‘Waterloo Sunset’ cocktail (on sale in the Moonlight Bar), and then I discovered that finally the show has a merchandise range! As if they needed more ways to take my money…

I probably shouldn’t admit this, but for much of the first quarter of the show I was super-emotional – the reception from an amazing audience, and then John starting to sing the first version of ‘You Really Got Me’ made my eyes a bit moist! Though I think I can partly blame this on my overwhelming tiredness… And immense pride in my Sunny family!

‘Dead End Street’ was a real first act highlight; I could not stop laughing at Larry Page (Vinny Leigh) getting wedged into the armchair halfway through! Mick was particularly angry once we reached Cardiff too, which I loved – an impressive array of increasingly pissed off facial expressions on display!

The second act was a bit of a rollercoaster. Properly grinning from ear to ear at the start (it was nice to see more of the plane scene again – some fun faces going on there, too), but then ‘Sitting In My Hotel’ and ‘I Go To Sleep’ happened… The former is a real showcase of John Dagleish’s wonderful voice, and a song that holds personal meaning to me – as well as reminding me of a fellow Afternooner (it’s a key song in the show for her). And as for the latter? Lillie Flynn’s amazing voice simply bristling with emotion. Thankfully there was some brief respite, as ‘Sunny Afternoon’ itself had a jubilant atmosphere. But ‘Days’ and ‘Waterloo Sunset’ both had me in bits!

And then Klein came on with an extra special announcement, which immediately switched me to euphoria – the words “special guest” could mean only one thing. Ray Davies! Something that hadn’t happened before, and quite possibly won’t happen again. I feel very privileged to have been there to share in that experience – not just with the audience, but with my lovely cast!

Ray Davies joins the cast of Sunny Afternoon on stage to celebrate the show winning 4 Olivier awards, at the Harold Pinter Theatre - London. Photograph by David Jenson.
Ray Davies joins the cast of Sunny Afternoon on stage to celebrate the show winning 4 Olivier awards, at the Harold Pinter Theatre – London.
Photograph by David Jensen.

The fun didn’t stop there either! It was wonderful to get to congratulate the cast on their success, and lovely to hear that bumping into us before the ceremony had helped ease their nerves a bit. We’re useful for something, at least!

And… Jess & I got our hands on John’s very own Olivier Award!

WP_20150413_011

It is so much heavier than it looks, but no less wondrous.

I still can’t quite process what’s happened, but if that means I have to keep thinking about it to make sure… I’m fine with that!

Quote of the night: “Now what do we do?!”

Song of the night: You Really Got Me – an electric atmosphere early on, the guys were really on it, and Lillie’s tambourine playing was its most exuberant!

Scene of the night: the car scene in America – Elvis faces returned! And the reactions to the gunshot were even more hilarious than usual… Thank you, Adam & Ned, for making my night!

#drumsolo view rating: 4/5 – once I sat up & moved my head slightly, it was a pretty clear & straight view!

John Dagleish and George Maguire in Sunny Afternoon.  Photograph by Kevin Cummins. (2)
John Dagleish and George Maguire in Sunny Afternoon.
Photograph by Kevin Cummins. (2)
One thought on “(Unofficial) Day 8: Waterloo Sunset

Leave a Reply

