Day 4: We do as we please

Ned Derrington in Sunny Afternoon. Photograph by Kevin Cummins.
Ned Derrington in Sunny Afternoon.
Photograph by Kevin Cummins.

The tiredness is really setting in now, after reaching the halfway point. We’ve been doing a good job of sharing out the ticket buying this week, we Afternooners, and today it was my turn again. Though when the weather is this glorious I really don’t mind! It is still technically summer, and it actually feels a bit like it again. I always enjoy seeing Sunny Afternoon when it actually is a sunny afternoon! And thankfully it didn’t warm up the theatre too much, so the cast didn’t start melting again…

On this day in Kinks history…

Well, possibly this day. In 1966, Pete Quaife left the band to go to Denmark to stay with his girlfriend. John Dalton was signed up as a full-time member by 12 September, so it must have happened around this time.

Thanks to the Kinks Oracle (Ksenia) for this content.

#ThrowbackThursday

With most of the cast leaving in October, this feels more pertinent than ever. I’m feeling increasingly nostalgic, so it was nice to have a trip down Sunny memory lane today!

My first trip to Sunny Afternoon on Hallowe'en - with the glorious scaffolding still up!
My first trip to Sunny Afternoon on Hallowe’en – with the wonderful scaffolding still up!
#Afternooners preparing for the WhatsOnStage Awards - to cheer on George & Sunny.
#Afternooners preparing for the WhatsOnStage Awards – to cheer on George & Sunny.
Catching up with the lovely Em during last #SunnyChallenge week!
Catching up with the lovely Em during last #SunnyChallenge week!
Finding this poster on the way home from the Oliviers ceremony - it was our destiny!
Finding this poster on the way home from the Oliviers ceremony – it was our destiny!
Tenuous, but... I had to show off my new t-shirt alongside a member of the cast, didn't I?
Tenuous, but… I had to show off my new t-shirt alongside a member of the cast, didn’t I?

Thank you for also sharing your memories:

The Challenge

It may not seem like much of a challenge, given the amount of time I spend on Twitter anyway, but I’ve learnt that running a fan page is different from just tweeting the random thoughts that come into your head… (Or interval quotes!)

I thought a good way to start my brief tenure was to run a competition. Hopefully you saw my #SunnyChallenge quiz and gave it a bit of a go! Me being me, I had to make it difficult – and also that you had to have seen the show to be able to answer it (I even changed a question because I remembered that the quote was in the newer trailer!). The winner will be announced tomorrow, by the way. Leaving a bit of a dramatic pause for effect!

With it being Thursday, that seemed like a good platform for a bit of #tbt (as you can see above!).

And of course you have to keep an eye on what’s going on with your followees… Excitingly there was another update from the rehearsal rooms, and there were a few offers & reviews (& information about On Blackheath!) that I was only too happy to share with the Sunny Afternoon fan page’s followers.

Plus, chuck in the odd set of lyrics & a weather-appropriate music video and you’re laughing!

Yeah, I know, it still doesn’t sound like a lot – but consider that I was still running my own personal account, as well as doing other stuff with my day… I’m pretty pleased with myself! I think there could be a bright future for me in social media… 😉

The show

InstagramCapture_681c07ef-2bd2-475d-a1c6-b75788dfc1bc_jpg

Tonight I managed to tempt Jess back to the Pinter with the lure of our very favourite table! Also good for me to be able to keep up my thing of having a different seat (& very different vantage points) every day during challenge week.

And I’m so glad we were there! If you want the opportunity to pick up on all the little details, and occasionally have a bit of interaction from the cast, the table seats are the absolute best. Definitely worth the slight discomfort in the neck & backside! It was an absolutely cracking show tonight, again everyone seemed to be really enjoying themselves & just going for it. Possibly my favourite drum solo of the week so far?

The audience was a bit odd – quite patchy at times, and occasionally quite annoying (phones, rustling, etc.), but generally enthusiastic, which always boosts the enjoyment factor all round. I didn’t manage to go a whole week with full principal cast, which is a bit of a shame, but Steve being on (for Vinny this time) is never a bad thing. Or, actually, any of ‘Team B’ being on!

Oh, and a very nice thing happened before the show started. Jay Marsh found us & came to say hello! (He’ll be the new Piven after cast change, in case you hadn’t heard.) It was very nice of him to make the effort to do that, and great to hear how things are going in rehearsals – plus how amazing everyone is. He came to see the show before he got the part, and couldn’t really concentrate on watching & enjoying it properly – so now he has the role he thought it would be good to see how the whole thing works together as a whole. I hope he enjoyed, and I really am excited about seeing the new cast!

Ned Derrington in rehearsals. Photograph by Dominic Clemence.
Ned Derrington in rehearsals.
Photograph by Dominic Clemence.

Today’s Star of the Day is Ned Derrington.

Often sadly overlooked, Ned plays the whole range of Pete’s emotions to absolute perfection. From his giddy excitement in the band’s beginning, through stress amidst tension to utter despair prior to his departure – it’s absolutely spot on. And I should really highlight his bass playing. You would have no idea that he learnt this instrument just so he could stay with the show (he initially workshopped Wace); it genuinely looks like he’s been playing the bass for much more than just a couple of years! Pete Quaife had some pretty spectacular bass lines, and it can be quite mesmerising to watch Ned go. In particular during Lola in the finale! He is truly a natural musician.

He is a fairly recent RADA graduate, but has done the odd TV job here & there (such as Fresh Meat, Siblings) as well as briefly appearing in Mr Turner last year. We’re still not sure what’s on the cards for him next, but I think we can be confident he will shine in whatever he turns his hand to!

One thought on “Day 4: We do as we please

Leave a Reply

