Before you go… #2

Sunny Afternoon. Photograph by Kevin Cummins.
Sunny Afternoon.
Photograph by Kevin Cummins.

Cast change week continues and, as Adam so kindly pointed out last night, there are four shows left. Halfway. Crazy.

Midweek doubles are fun. And this time even more so, as I got to see two different Rays in the day! It seemed like an age since I’d last seen Ryan onstage… It was actually only two and a half weeks, but that is a long time in Sunny world! One thing I love about this show is that the cast are continually evolving & developing their characters, and Ryan is no different. Thinking back to his very first night as Ray is like remembering a different man! His Ray is distinct from John’s but no less effective. I found his duets with George particularly poignant this week, with him staying & his friends leaving.

WP_20150930_007

I started the day quite buoyantly (I was still on a high from my 150th) and the matinée felt quite celebratory for me, especially as I was unexpectedly sat with Sandie – then a cheeky switch to my favourite table for the second act.

However, being sat up in the dress circle (in my favourite seat on that level) for the evening performance had an unanticipated effect. Being able to see everybody all together in one look did make me start to get emotional, oddly more in the first half… Though the finale did a great job of picking my mood right back up again – just in time!

There was the added bonus of having a few Sunny alumni in watching yesterday: Luke Baker & Robbie Durham in the matinée and Ashley Campbell in the evening. It was lovely to see them back there & have a brief catchup with them all.

WP_20150930_006

I am pleased that I’ve made it to this point without completely breaking down. Yes, maybe it’s denial, but if it’s helping me to keep going then I’ll live with it for now! Though I think I’ll make sure I have a few more spare tissues with me from now on, just in case…

One thought on “Before you go… #2

Leave a Reply

