Coming up in 2016…

As I’ve managed to accidentally fall in love with the second Sunny cast (oops), I’ll now be going to that more often than I’d initially anticipated… But that doesn’t mean I’ll be letting everything else fall by the wayside! There are a few things that I want to see more than once, but hopefully there’s still plenty of room for variety.

Private Lives (tour) – Churchill Theatre, Bromley

I’ll be honest, I’m mostly motivated by the chance to see Tom Chambers onstage again (Top Hat & White Christmas were fabulous). However, I feel like I’ve not managed to ‘get’ Noël Coward yet – so I want to give him another go! Thanks to ATG’s Boxing Day sale I managed to grab a bargain front row seat for the penultimate day of the Bromley leg of the tour. Can’t wait!

Private Lives
Image source: ATG website

Chicago (tour) – tbc

I may have mentioned once or twice that I love the twenties. I love the film version of Chicago, but have somehow never seen it onstage – this has to be the year that I set this right. So it’s lucky that a new tour will be starting out in 2016! And with none other than musical theatre legend John Partridge as Billy Flynn. I’d better get this booked pronto…

Chicago
Image source: ATG website

Footloose (tour) – tbc

Not necessarily something I’d usually go to see, and I’ve never seen the film, but former Sunny understudy Luke Baker has landed the role of Ren – so how can I refuse? I’m not necessarily all that bothered about seeing Gareth Gates, but there we go. I’m hoping to head out with the Theatre Tourist to review it when it gets to the London area in the late spring.

Footloose
Image source: ATG website

Guys and Dolls – Savoy Theatre, tbc

A classic musical – and as I mentioned in my ‘should’ve seen’ post, I keep meaning to see more of them. I also happen to love the Savoy Theatre, plus this production has received rave reviews. I’m not sure you can go wrong with that! The only issue is the Savoy price-tag, but hopefully I can find a way around that to get a reasonable seat. It’s been a while since I saw a good old-fashioned musical…

Guys and Dolls
Image source: Guys and Dolls website

The End of Longing – Playhouse Theatre, tbc

I’ve always found Matthew Perry hilarious as an actor (could he be any funnier?), so I’m curious to see if he’s any good as a writer too. The fact that he’s also in the cast is, of course, a massive draw – and I do quite like the Playhouse too. It’s looking a little expensive, but at least tickets are still available!

The End of Longing
Image source: ATG website

The War of the Worlds – Dominion Theatre, tbc

A classic sci-fi story brought back to the stage, in the wonderful surroundings of the Dominion Theatre. I remember first hearing it and being absolutely terrified, and having some pretty scary dreams thanks to my active imagination! This production has a hologram of Liam Neeson as the Journalist, which I’m excited to see in action. My family are all hoping to see the show in the spring.

War of the Worlds
Image source: Dominion Theatre website

Motown: The Musical – Shaftesbury Theatre, tbc

I have high hopes of this show being a good bit of entertainment. There is some great Motown music out there, and it looks like some of the best tunes have been selected for the show! Previews begin in February, and the way the weather’s been going that seems like pretty good timing to bring some more sunshine & cheer to the West End.

Motown
Image source: Shaftesbury Theatre website

The Maids – Trafalgar Studios

I really do hope that this is good, as I’ve somehow accumulated three tickets… First preview, opening night & then another during the run to keep me going – the latter was purchased in the ATG Boxing Day sale, meaning I could get a front row seat for back row prices! It’s a dark play about maids plotting to kill their mistress, and will star Zawe Ashton, Uzo Aduba & Laura Carmichael for the Jamie Lloyd Company. He’s not let me down yet…

The Maids
Image source: ATG website

Groundhog Day – The Old Vic, tbc

Music & lyrics by Tim Minchin. I don’t really need to say much more than that! I’ve not actually seen the film (it is indeed based on the Bill Murray comedy), but I know the rough concept behind it at least. I’ve loved the two shows in Matthew Warchus’ debut season as artistic director (The Hairy Ape & The Lorax), so with any luck the standard of production will be kept up by the time this opens in the summer.

Groundhog Day
Image source: Old Vic website

wonder.land – Olivier Theatre (National Theatre), tbc

I’ve always loved the story of Alice in Wonderland, so it would be interesting to see such a modern take on it. I haven’t heard great things about the music involved in the show, which is a shame as I like a lot of Damon Albarn’s work. I happened to see a load of the props & scenery being made when I took a trip to the Sherling High-Level Walkway on my birthday and they looked fabulous. It’s got to be worth a Friday Rush seat, surely?

wonder.land
Image source: National Theatre website

Red Velvet – Kenneth Branagh Theatre Company, Garrick Theatre, tbc

After the opening two shows by classic writers, a relatively new piece of work. Lolita Chakrabarti’s play premiered at the Tricycle Theatre in 2012, went across the pond and now finds itself as the next production in the Branagh residency. It’s an exciting subject matter: a black American actor being asked to take over from an indisposed star, juxtaposed with the abolition of slavery. Adrian Lester is taking on the lead role again, which is also fantastic news. One to book very soon I think!

Red Velvet
Image source: Kenneth Branagh Theatre Company website

Miss Atomic Bomb – St James Theatre, tbc

Co-written by Sunny Afternoon’s very own Gabriel Vick (Robert Wace), this musical comedy is set in the shadow of the mushroom cloud… It’s inspired by beauty pageants & nuclear testing from 1950s Las Vegas – which immediately interests me with the potential of the music & costume. Also, Top Hat choreographer Bill Deamer is on the team, which fills me with confidence! And from getting to know Gabriel a little via Sunny I’m sure it will be a very funny show too.

Miss Atomic Bomb
Image source: St James Theatre website

Theatrical New Year’s resolutions…

  • See any Shakespeare play at the Globe
  • Just see more Shakespeare in general
  • Go and watch The Mousetrap (you never know, it might close!!)
  • Catch another Read Not Dead performance
  • Finally see Robbie D in Billy Elliot!
  • Have a night at the opera

I’m also hoping to see some more ballroom dance shows, a bit of comedy and some live music outside of musicals (Last Shadow Puppets is my dream right now). I’ve also got a ticket to a talk about Shakespeare’s Richard II at the Barbican, which David Tennant is currently scheduled to be on the panel for. And of course, plenty more Sunny Afternoons! Let’s just keep busy…

WP_20151020_001

4 thoughts on “Coming up in 2016…

Leave a Reply

