Sunny Afternoon touring cast

Joe Penhall and Ray Davies with the full Sunny Afternoon touring company
Photo credit: Richard Davenport

After what seems like an eternity of waiting, today the touring cast for hit Kinks musical Sunny Afternoon has finally been announced! And to celebrate, SFP have also added several new dates to the already busy schedule:

  • Venue Cymru, Llandudno (14 February – 18 February)
  • Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin (21 March – 25 March)
  • Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury (4 April – 8 April)
  • Theatre Royal Norwich (11 April – 15 April)
  • Grand Theatre, Wolverhampton (18 April – 22 April)
  • Grand Opera House, Belfast (2 May – 6 May).

So, wherever you are in the UK, you have no excuses left.

One big headline is that the leading man is none other than the West End’s current alternate Ray, Ryan O’Donnell! This really is fantastic news for all involved. O’Donnell began his Sunny life as understudy Ray & Dave in April last year, gaining a promotion at October’s cast change – along the way he has become a firm fan favourite.

Joining Ryan as his little brother, Dave, is Mark Newnham. His recent portrayal of Steve Marriott in the Small Faces musical All Or Nothing has garnered him critical acclaim, so it’s little surprise that he’s swapped one iconic 60s band for another to play another tearaway guitarist.

Making up the rest of the band are Garmon Rhys (bassist Pete Quaife) & Andrew Gallo (drummer Mick Avory). Rhys featured in Jamie Lloyd’s West End production of Doctor Faustus, and Gallo has most recently appeared as Hugh Dorsey in the Hope Mill’s production of Parade.

Andrew Gallo, Mark Newnham, Ryan O’Donnell and Garmon Rhys
Photo credit: Richard Davenport

Lisa Wright is also confirmed as leading lady, Rasa. On top of her acting, she’s a rising country music star, so Rasa’s iconic vocals should be in safe hands.

The rest of the cast are: Jayne Ashley, Victoria Anderson, Nathanael Campbell, Marcelo Cervone, Tomm Coles, Deryn Edwards, Sophie Leigh Griffin, Sam Haywood, James Hudson, Richard Hurst, Cleo Jaeger, James Lorcan, Joseph Richardson, Robert Took, Alex Wadham, Libby Watts, Michael Warburton and Lucy Wilkerson.

If you’re a regular at the show, you’ll recognise another name in that list – yes, current Team B member (understudy Mr Davies/Klein, Page, Kassner & Piven), Rob Took! He’s done a brilliant job stepping in since the October cast change, and is particularly hilarious in the guise of Allen Klein.

Deryn Edwards, according to Twitter, will be Mrs Davies/Marsha – and it seems likely (going on previous casting decisions) that Nathanael Campbell is our new Piven.Hopefully fairly soon the rest of the cast will be matched up to their characters, until then we speculate…

Sunny Afternoon begins its UK tour in Manchester on Friday 19 August 2016. All dates and tickets are available via the official website and ATG.

2 thoughts on “Sunny Afternoon touring cast

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.