Dry January 2017

13626411_1734404943485327_6469877701571165892_n
Photo credit: Falling Pennies Theatre Company

Last year I took on Dry January for the first time, mostly triggered by some rather heavy nights out – and as I managed it (making £160 for Cancer Research in the process), I thought it was worth another go this year.

As Cancer Research is quite a well-known charity, I decided this time I should try & raise money for a different one. In the latter half of 2016 I started going to productions by Falling Pennies Theatre Company, the first full-length one being Beetles From The West. Ryan Penny founded the company after getting the news about his dad’s diagnosis with prostate cancer, and brought James Hartnell on board to write a play about the effects of the disease. They even had a short run at Plymouth’s Barbican, raising £200.70 from bucket collections.

This is a wonderfully positive & proactive approach to take, and not the kind of reaction many of us would have. And from a theatregoer’s point of view, I’m really grateful for Ryan’s initiative as it’s provided some fantastic nights at the theatre so far!

I would never have heard of the Chestnut Appeal if it weren’t for Falling Pennies. Founded in Plymouth in 1999, it relies completely on public donations to keep innovating and bringing in new treatments & technologies; they recently contributed £125,000 to both The Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital and Derriford Hospital for a Da Vinci Robot, which enables robotic surgery to be carried out in the south west. They hold regular fundraising events as well as accepting donations, such as the Chestnut Cup Football Tournament. It really is a fantastic example of community spirit working towards the greater good.

As well as being inspired by the company’s work, this charity is also the right choice for me as a family member has recently begun treatment for prostate cancer.

It’s not like I’m a problem drinker, but I go to more press nights these days – quite often there are free drinks on offer, and I’m always one to make the most of a freebie! I’ve a few lined up already this month so I’ll have to concentrate there. Plus I do have a bit of a taste for gin, so anything I can save on that will help me out this year!

My aim is to try and raise £201, so if you want to help out you can sponsor me online, text DEBG49 & an amount to 70070, or hand me some cash the old-fashioned way.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.