Day 1: Bow to the inevitable

Sunny Afternoon Kevin Cummins
The cast of Sunny Afternoon
Photo credit: Kevin Cummins

Sunny Challenge 4.0 got off to an early start, thanks to the fact that I had to travel back across the country to return to London – so straightaway I’m pretty exhausted. Perhaps doing the show six nights in a row is going to be a physical challenge after all?

It’s hard to believe that this would’ve been the final week of the show (12-month contracts are the norm). I definitely wouldn’t be ready to face it yet! It’s bad enough that by the end of the week there will be only four weeks to go…

The Challenge

So, the very first challenge was:

I really thought this was going to be a doddle. A proper cop-out challenge. Ha! After plotting out which scenes & songs to include, I realised I may have bitten off more than I could chew – between my car journey & a pre-show cuppa, I managed to get half the show drawn out. Not a bad effort!

As I had no suitable challenge prepared for day 2, the sensible decision was taken to carry over act 2 until then. I have the feeling that, with work taking up most of the day, I may fail two days in a row… So as long as it’s done by the end of the week I’ll be happy! I shall make a slideshow up of each drawing and get it posted.

cttarsrw8aehx11

The show

It was a bit busier than I’d expected for a Monday night, so (shock horror) the closest I could get without choosing a front table was row D. It’s nice to see things from a different vantage point every now & again though, plus you don’t have to strain your neck quite so much to see people’s faces.

I had hoped to try & get a few days of full principal cast in, however I’ll never say no to seeing Lia onstage – this time she was in Gwen mode. Lovely to see everyone else up there, in particular the full band. I don’t know whether it was because I’d done quieter, different things since I last saw the show on Wednesday, but it seemed ridiculously & brilliantly loud! It really did feel like my actual eyeballs were vibrating during You Really Got Me. The regularity of quality live music is something that I am properly going to miss when Doomsday mk. 2 comes along. Yes, the tour’s ongoing so the show isn’t dead, but it’s not like I can just wander across to the West End in a lunchbreak to grab a ticket should I feel the urge, is it? As far as I can see, that part of the show is irreplaceable by any other production in the country – so I’m just going to have to find more live music fixes elsewhere I suppose.

Luckily this show seemed to be one of my less emotional ones. They come & go, though I suspect as the week goes on I’ll gradually get weepier – through tiredness & impending doom… It did feel like everyone had come in feeling quite fresh, as there was a lot of cheekiness from where I was sitting! Possibly helped by the fact that I was constantly distracted by whatever Chris, Gabriel & Charlie were getting up to.

To my delight, Danny waited until he got further down the hanamichi before disposing of his pick during the finale, so I ended up with a souvenir for my first day’s work! You can’t say fairer than that.

Megan Monday

Not only does her name alliterate with the day of the week (you can see what I’m going for here), but Megan is also our reigning Cast Member of the Month – so it seemed more than fitting to cast a light on her for the first show of challenge week. Thinking back to just under a year ago, Megan has made real developments with her character, showing Rasa in a different light to others who have taken on the role. Her voice in combination with Danny’s is a wonderful thing to have the privilege to listen to, and she really does shine in her solo moment (I Go To Sleep).

I also managed to lightly interrogate her following the show, so expect another blog post once the madness of Sunny Challenge subsides next week…

Leave a Reply

